Skip to content
02/06/2014 / thriftomancer

Blue-green squares, months later

You last saw this quilt in early October when all I had were these nifty little cores of 43 quilt blocks.

Block cores

Adorable. It’s been 4 months though, and quilts grow up so fast. This is what I’ve got now:

Blue-Green quilt blocks

That’s 49 completed 6.5″ square blocks and 43 block cores. I’ve calculated that I’ll need 195 completed blocks to make a 78″ x 90″ top, so I’ve still got 146 to go. (Which may lead to me deciding to mix completed blocks with cores and unfinished blocks of intermediate size. could be cool.)

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. wombatquilts / Feb 7 2014 12:40 am

    These blocks are fabulous. Love the colour scheme.

  2. Jessie Aller / Feb 7 2014 10:22 am

    This is just an awesome collection of blocks. So, so fun to stare at all the different color combinations. I think it would look awesome to leave some blocks just as cores. Did you pre-select all your fabrics, or are you adding in as you go?

    • thriftomancer / Feb 9 2014 8:17 pm

      Since it’s stashbusting, the colors I used were pretty much whatever scraps I had available in blue and green, then the neutrals that were on hand. I did a bit of tinkering with it and pulled certain colors like the really dark green, grays, and navy blues from my stash of larger bits; but on the whole the blocks just emerged from what was lying closest and looked good.

  3. julierose / Feb 8 2014 11:23 am

    I love these blue/green squares within squares…especially all those different sizes!! hugs, Julierose

Leave a Reply

