Skip to content
10/22/2013 / thriftomancer

Tripling up for once

Usually when quilting I finish whatever project I started before moving on to a new one. Usually. Right now I’ve got three quilts going at once, which is a new record for me. The top of the manic quilt is done, the concentric squares are in progress (10 6″ x 6″ blocks finished), and now there’s this pie-like stack of triangles:

Half-square stack

That became this:

HST top WIP

Since I was already in stash busting mode with my linen, I figured why not work on whittling down my cotton too? After all, my cotton stash had a similar problem with green build-up and it couldn’t hurt to finally use the fabrics that had been sitting around, some for years now. So, a half square triangle top is in the works.

Because this quilt’s cotton, the fabrics are a mix of new yardage (the solids, mostly), and reclaimed material from clothes, tablecloths, and whatnot. In light of that, I feel terribly lucky about how all the colors worked out. Like any other stash busting project, I was working with just what I already had on-hand in whatever quantities there happened to be. It was pure, stupid luck that I had enough of each fabric to carry the bands of color exactly as far as I wanted to. (Even if I did decide later that I didn’t like the blue batik pattern and replaced it with a black and off-white striped linen.)

For now I’m planning on making a solid backing out of some purple plaid shirting from my stash and using polyester batting instead of my usual needle-punched cotton. I’ve never worked with poly batting before, so I don’t really know what to expect or if I’ll like it. What I do know is that this quilt will be used on the living room couch, which means that people (my dad) are going to fall asleep while watching TV and drop cheese, M&M’s, lunchmeat, ect. on it, so it needs to be highly washable. Thus, polyester. we’ll see how it goes.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kate / Oct 29 2013 5:48 pm

    Hello, love this new top, (in fact, I love all your work), wish I could work as quickley. I was just surprised then when you said you were going to use poly wadding. I’ve been using it for years due to lack of money, but I pretty much hate the stuff now! I find it beards through everything, although I have never worked with linen. I tried a condensed poly, but found it quite thick to hand quilt through and didn’t like that either. I would be really interested to know what you think of it compared with your normal wadding, and also which type of poly wadding you are trying.

    • thriftomancer / Nov 13 2013 6:43 pm

      Thanks! I haven’t posted it yet, but I actually just finished quilting this yesterday evening. The batting I used was ‘soft and bright.’ It’s needle-punched poly, so no scrim, made by The Warm Company. (They make the ‘warm and natural’ needle-punched cotton batting that I normally use.) I still prefer the cotton batting because I’m persnickety about my materials, but this stuff was actually very nice to work with. It was soft, practically fluffy, and easy to stitch through. Pretty much on par with cotton batting, which was surprising. I don’t know about if it will beard just yet, but I’ll keep an eye on it (for science!)

Leave a Reply

