Skip to content
04/10/2013 / thriftomancer

Novi Home & Garden Show 2013

This past weekend was fun. Like I said in my last post, I was showing my quilts at a booth in the fine arts section of the show alongside I/ACT. I got to hang out with some of the area’s premier artists, chat with several fellow quilters that came by (all very sweet), and got to see the rest of the show as well.

Here’s my booth. (No, that’s not me off to the side.)

Novi H&G Booth

The show itself was entertaining. I’m not going to gush over it like the other cons I’ve written about (Penguicon, Maker Faire, World Steam) though, because it was more of a trade show. Companies and vendors hawking hot tubs, insulation, siding, flooring, ect. There was a stage in the landscaping section where they gave a few talks about gardening, but that was pretty much it as far as panels or the like went.

Still, I enjoyed it. Pretty much ignored the home improvement folks and focused on the landscaping and garden sections. It was rather cool. Each landscaper present has trucked in miniature gardens to show off their abilities, complete with full-sized trees (natural, espaliered, and otherwise trained) and water features.

Only one of those features had koi in it, which surprised me. Everyone loves koi.

Koi!

One company specializing in trees had brought this:

Tree spade

It’s called a tree spade and is used to cut trees out of the ground, preserving the root ball, and haul them to a new site for safe transplanting. They’re some of my favorite heavy machinery.

There was also some interesting garden sculpture available:

A sighting?

Well now...

I approve.

Apart from all that, two (rival, I assume) landscapers were giving away little pine cuttings with their business cards. I grabbed 6.

I’ve been planning to start some pine bonsai since the start of winter. I would have either had to start the trees from seed, take cuttings off an already established tree, or buy a small sapling from a nursery and mold it to my whims. All of those options would take months/years before I could even start to work on training it.

Each of these mini-pines looked vigorous, had secondary growth, and had a full root system already developed. They could be planted immediately and grow, so I decided to save myself a lot of time and start with them.

Here they are, happily sucking up nutrients in my garden.

Bonsai to be

(Incidentally, there was a horticulturist who was selling starter and established bonsai at his booth. We had a long talk about moss care, achieving dwarfed leaves, and how to make grafts unobtrusive to invisible.)

In short, it was a good show, I had a good time, and would probably come back to do it again if I’m invited.

Leave a Reply

