Skip to content
11/03/2012 / thriftomancer

Okay, seriously…

Where are all these scraps coming from?

After the conclusion of Operation: Stashbust and a deal with a local quilt shop to sell mid-size scraps in bulk/grab bags, I was at 0 as far as scraps went. Successfully cleared it all out and was ready to get to work with my (respectively) new material. Yet, somehow my scrap bowl’s full again!

Now, since purging my scraps I have done projects in various shades of black, blue, brown, purple, and natural; so the accumulation of scraps in those colors is reasonable and accounted for. That said, where the hell is all this red, orange, yellow, and green coming from?!

It’s a mystery.

Regardless of how they got here, I’ve got scraps once more and intend to use them. I’m resurrecting Operation: Stashbust with Phase 5: The wonky split log cabin quilt.

My last log cabin quilt turned out nicely, so I’m excited for this one. I didn’t want to make it a Multi-Housetop MkII however, so instead of making each block a riot of mad color like the ones in its predecessor, I’m making each shell/layer of the blocks be a uniform color, though the mix of colors in each block will be what I’ve randomly got on hand. The blocks will also be smaller this time, 9.5″ square instead of the 12.5″ square I used before.

Here are a few of the blocks I’ve made. I’ve been laying them out in different combinations to gauge how the colors interact and get an idea of what the final quilt top may look like.

Split Log Cabin blocks WIP

Thus far I’ve got 24 blocks finished and another 36 in various stages of construction. That makes 60 of the 72 I’ll need in the end, and since there are still plenty of scraps left, I’m confident I’ll be able to finish the top in one go this time. I might even use them all up.

Leave a Reply

