Skip to content
06/10/2012 / thriftomancer

Postage Stamp Complete!

In what I suspect may be a new hand-quilting speed record (for me), this quilt is done after just a week. Impressive because I did twice as much stitching on this as I usually do for a quilt. Even better, I didn’t destroy the thumb, index, and middle fingertips of my right hand like I usually do when quilting this much. I’m okay with this.

It hasn’t changed much/at all from the last picture you saw of it, but here’s the finished product.

Postage Stamp - front

Postage Stamp - back

You can’t really tell, but it’s quilted in a grid. There’s a line of stitching on every other row/column of squares. (That’s 41 different lines across the top and a lot of quilting.)  As you can see though, the back isn’t pieced. This is the first time in quite a while that I’ve used a solid backing on a quilt. Mostly because I really wasn’t in the mood to do any more piecing after putting together that top.

For the record, this one is made from repurposed cotton and linen, as well as leftover scraps of new cotton quilting fabrics, and has whittled down my stash of lingering scraps very effectively. Mission accomplished! Now, to stow it in my car.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Molly / Jun 11 2012 6:56 am

    Wow! All those little squares make an amazing quilt. Love it!!

  2. sincerelysarahandcrafted / Jun 11 2012 9:08 am

    I LOVE postage stamp quilts.. and this one is beautiful!

  3. Maryanne / Jun 12 2012 11:28 am

    ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!!! Never in a million years could I make something like that. I just love miniatures so this is right up my ally. Well done

  4. linens2lace / Jun 24 2012 1:48 pm

    This is beautiful. Happy to see you have all of your fingers left. I have a ton of small fabric in my stores just for projects like this. You are an inspiration to the community of fellow thumb stickers.

    • thriftomancer / Jun 24 2012 8:25 pm

      You’re far too kind, but I thank you anyway. ^_^

      Have you got any scrap-based projects in mind for your stash?

      • linens2lace / Jun 24 2012 11:51 pm

        No, I finished my one quilt and now I just sell the vintage material in my stores, finding people would rather create them themselves. I have more fun now then I did when I poked my fingers. Did a couple of projects with my vintage lace however. Those were fun.

  5. Tonya Ricucci / Mar 24 2013 10:49 am

    really beautiful. love it.

Leave a Reply

