Skip to content
04/21/2012 / thriftomancer

Dice Bag MKII

I’ve been working diligently on my postage stamp quilt, but it’s time to take a break from large-scale textiles and shift over to my other favorite subject: Dice.

Over the holidays I got quite a large number of dice. (Huzzah!) There was the now-traditional pound-o-dice from Chessex and a nifty set of 36 12mm black and red d6’s, but I also received two sets that were a little more unique:

One of Q-workshop’s carved steampunk polyhedral sets. (Look at all those lovely gears, sprockets, and pipes!)

Steampunk dice

And a set of Gamescience’s more unusually-shaped dice. ‘Unusual’ means a d3, d5, d14, d16, and d24 which are, as any tabletop gamer can tell you, about as common as viable polycephaly.

Abnormal Zocchi dice

I also picked up a few new dice on my own that were just too awesome to leave behind. (It’s gotten to the point where dice need to be something out of the ordinary for me to acquire them.) These here are a d30 (rarely-used shape), a d20 within a d20 (never seen one before), several tiny d6’s, and one that… well, looks like a bone. I can dig it. The one with the skull is a custom die from The Vault of Midnight, an awesome comic/games/toy shop in Ann Arbor.

Ann Arbor dice

Just adore ’em all, I do, but the sudden influx combined with the Pathfinder campaign my gaming group’s running reminded me of a major problem that arises from having a large collection of dice. Namely, there are a lot of them.

It makes them difficult to store and to use, as the bag you lug around to each game is cumbersome. The solution is simple though: Make more dice bags.

I set out to make a small army of bags of various sizes/capacities that are more portable than the main storage bag I made and also hold the specific types of dice I need to play each of my games. It’s been an ongoing project for months, but now that it’s finally finished and the dust has settled I find myself with individual bags for Pathfinder, Magic the Gathering, holding my unique dice, general storage, and this guy.

The pattern for all of them is similar to my hex bag, made out of repurposed materials. Three-piece linen outer shells, that are lined with more linen and sashiko stitched/quilted together with cotton embroidery floss. On all the bags, save the one for MTG, the drawstring is two loops of flat cotton plait drawstring salvaged from old pairs of pants. The MTG bag’s drawstrings are linen ties that I saved when I dismantled its predecessor. (My loyal, worn-out old bag may be gone, but it lives on through the ties!)

Each of these took me about five hours total to sew then hand-stitch.

Here are some pics of the Pathfinder bag in progress!

The pieces all laid out. Two sides for both the outer shell and lining, two long side panels, the two pieces of drawstring, and four wee bits to serve as retaining loops for said drawstring.

Making a dice bag 1

Stitched up the outer and inner shells. The indigo one has the retaining loops stitched on the inside, which is the right side of the fabric.

Making a dice bag 2

Joined them at the mouth with wrong sides out and left a gap in the seam so I could turn it inside-out.

Making a dice bag 3

Turned it right-side out and basted the two layers together. (Also stuffed it with dice to test if it was the right size.)

Making a dice bag 4

Hand-stitching ensues! Closed up the gap along the mouth’s seam, then started on the sashiko. (By the way, I’ve put a very good sashiko tutorial from Sake Puppets over in the tutorials section of the sidebar.)

Making a dice bag 5

Just simple parallel lines of running stitch along the bag’s sides. Nine lines in total.

And finished:

Making a dice bag 6

The other bags follow the same pattern and are black/electric blue for Magic, black/gray for my unique dice, and brown/blue for general storage. The fifth bag for Blackmoon was black/red and I’ve already sent it off. (He liked it.) I’m quite pleased with all of them and they should last me a good long time.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Maryanne / Apr 22 2012 4:31 am

    Oooh, love all the dice…your bag is great!!

    • thriftomancer / Apr 23 2012 10:46 pm

      Thanks! I tried to keep this round of bags simple as possible. Learned my lesson with the hexagons last time. :3

  2. Ria / Apr 30 2012 4:29 pm

    Love the dice bag! The sashiko stitches are a great embellishment, too!

    I haven’t collected dice in a while, but I still have a few sets of standard ones for tabletop games. One thing I want, though, is a proper D100, one that actually has 100 facets and isn’t just a D10 with extra 0s. I’ve only ever seen one once, and I want one of my own someday!

    • thriftomancer / Apr 30 2012 9:00 pm

      Ah, the venerable Zocchihedron. There are a few of them floating around in my friends’ dice collections, but we’ve never used them consistently in our games. I do remember we tried once, but it wouldn’t stop rolling and always went off the table. In the end we had to get a bowl to contain it. XD

  3. Samuel / Oct 28 2012 7:23 pm

    Wow what a great tutorial! So I was wondering, is there a way to give it a flat bottom so it is a free standing dice bag? I was planning on making a few for my play group as a Christmas loot drop

    • thriftomancer / Oct 31 2012 8:12 pm

      Dice bags, the gift that keeps giving. ^_^ You can certainly make a bag with a flat bottom, it ends up being more cylindrical than bag-like though. This tutorial is pretty good for that sort of bag, just omit the tin can and I think it’ll be exactly what you’re looking for. Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. A Beginner’s guide to Pen and Paper Roleplaying Games Part 3- Getting ready to play your first game : Building A Player’s Kit | The Stranger's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

