Skip to content
04/08/2012 / thriftomancer

Unusual unraveling

I’ve talked about reclaiming and repurposing yarn from sweaters before, but this is slightly different. Part of a larger project, actually. It began when I found this sweater at the Salvation Army.

Starting material

It’s a nice enough garment. Made by Lands’ End, 100% cotton, nice chunky yarn. What caught my attention, however, was that the yarn used was knitted from threads, not spun. It’s like super-fine I-cord that was then used as yarn and knitted itself.

Yarn close-up

Pretty cool, I thought, so I nabbed and unraveled it. This is the result:

A sweater undone

38 skeins of various sizes.

You may be wondering why I bothered to make skeins instead of winding the yarn directly into balls like I did before. It’s because of part two of my plan. I’m not going to just knit this stuff up, I’m going to try my hand at dyeing it first.

As I see it, I’ve got plenty of yarn to mess with, plenty of dye about, and precious little experience actually using any of it. That means it’s time to experiment.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Maryanne / Apr 10 2012 8:23 am

    Great Idea!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

