Skip to content
10/16/2011 / thriftomancer

The kid’s gonna be all right

Sometimes out in the public sphere you see things that make you feel good about the next generation. For example, a kid in a vintage Star Wars t-shirt playing an old Game Boy Color. With the younger kids it may be the parents who are the fans and dress their child that way, but it still inspires hope.

I witnessed one of these events at work yesterday.

Midway through my shift I was in the children’s section tidying the DVD collection (a task that must be done approximately every fifteen minutes) when a little girl and her mum walked up. The girl was dressed entirely in pink with poofy, sparkly embellishments on everything. I fully expected her to make a beeline for the princess movies, or maybe something with horses in it.

Instead, this awesome little lass walked straight to the T’s and grabbed a volume of Ninja Turtles, then looked up a shelf and picked up a disc of The Spectacular Spider-Man.

My faith in the next generation: Restored.

In other news, I ordered more dice.

Mayhap I’ve mentioned before (in the Maker Faire review, I believe) that I like love have a dice problem. Not a gambling problem, but a craving for the dice themselves. Some people collect spoons, lava lamps, garden gnomes, kitschy ceramic kittens… I collect polyhedral dice.

At last count, taken about an hour ago, I own a total 219 dice of the 20, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, and 2-sided varieties.

Fifteen minutes ago I placed an order for another pound of dice (which works out to roughly 100 more) and a matched set of seven Chessex clear borealis dice. They’re shiny. They were on sale. I can’t wait for them to get here. (And when they do I suppose I’ll need to write a dice bag tutorial.)

Yay.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Beth / Oct 16 2011 9:36 pm

    OK, I’ve never heard of collecting dice — but then again, maybe I am already a collector. I once bought 2 bags of 10 dice at the dollar store. (I’ve been thinking of drilling them to string them.) And I did not know you could buy them by the pound!
    Roll on!

  2. Waggonswest / Nov 10 2011 10:51 am

    I will be looking for that dice bag tutorial. I owe some one a dice bag and haven’t quite gotten around to making it.

    • thriftomancer / Nov 10 2011 10:34 pm

      Heh, I know what that’s like. I’ve actually got the tutorial written and nigh ready to post, so I’ll try and get it up sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

