Skip to content
09/07/2011 / thriftomancer

What’s in a name?

I’ve been thinking about names a lot today.

Earlier this morning I was looking through the Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns, compiled by Barbara Brackman, to see if there were any designs that caught my fancy. Flipping through I noticed, as I have before, that the names given to most of the patterns are pretty dull. Stuff like “Twist and Turn”, “Jacob’s Ladder”, or “Tumbling Blocks.”

Not bad names by any means and usually quite accurate descriptions of each design, but lacking in punch. While I know making up titles is hard, I usually walk away from these research sessions a little disappointed that the names aren’t more vibrant, more striking.

But not today. Today I found a quilt name so awe-inspiringly metal I feel I’m required to create one.

The block itself is a simple half-square triangle affair like these lovely blocks by Diane of Quilter’s Haven.

Half-square triangles by Diane of Quilter's Haven

Among the names listed for this pattern were the ubiquitous “Ocean Waves,” the apt “Thousands of Triangles,” and the one that grabbed me: The utterly bizarre…

TENTS OF ARMAGEDDON

A quick search of the internet reveals that the name’s been slapped on pretty much any triangle-themed design a quilter decided to create, regardless of the type of triangle (right, isosceles, or equilateral) or arrangement.

To me, the combination of that name and the fact that I just bought a half-square triangle ruler means I should probably make one of these beauties.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Nan / Sep 8 2011 12:55 pm

    I think Tents of Armmageddon is the best so far. I can’t wait to see what you will name yours when you are finished.

Leave a Reply

