Skip to content
09/01/2011 / thriftomancer

Phase Two: Complete

Finally, Phase two of Operation Stashbust is complete.

For those of you who don’t remember or have had your attention diverted by shaved bears and science, Operation Stashbust is my ongoing project to use up the many little scraps on my repurposed linen stash. Phase one was making the tiny squares quilt. Phase two is taking all the scraps too small to be turned into 2.5″ x 2.5″ squares and making them into hexagons for paper piecing. You may remember my tutorial on that.

Note that I wrote that on 8/16/2011.

Ever since I’ve been working on turning two 2-quart Ziploc bagfuls of scraps into teeny hexagons. This is the result.

Top Layer

What you’re seeing is 629 hexagons crammed into a 9″ x 9″ baking pan, but that’s not all. Underneath is, drum roll please…

A second layer!

Bottom Layer

And this layer has an extra row, adding 699 more to the count.

So 629 + 699 = 1328 total hexagons to work with, and there will undoubtedly be more made in the future as I keep generating scraps. (Keep in mind, these are only my linen scraps. I haven’t even started on wrangling my cotton fabrics, to say nothing of silks.)

In case you’re wondering, I counted them by laying them out in stacks of ten and doing a headcount, like so.

Hexies en masse

And no. I still don’t have the slightest idea of what I’ll do with all these hexies; but as I said before having them, even without having a plan, is still better than having bags of nigh-useless scraps lying about taking up space.

They’re pretty awesome…

Hexies close-up

Now, I guess I should get started on Phase three.

Also, the reading (/listening) list for this leg of the project: The Dark Tower series books 6 and 7:  Song of Susannah and The Dark Tower, by Stepen King; The Fuller Memorandum and Glasshouse, by Charles Stross; and Runemarks, by Joanne Harris.

The last three I recommend heartily, they’re excellent and certainly worth your time to read. The Dark Tower books, however, I’d not tell you to seek out. They’re not badly written, I enjoyed them enough to merit the invested time, but the subject matter will most definitely not appeal to all. They’re certainly not suitable for kids and, at points, maybe not even for adults either. If you really want to, start on the first book The Gunslinger and if it doesn’t hook you within the first two chapters, stop.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Beth / Sep 1 2011 9:38 pm

    Oh my gosh! I am eager to see how you use them!

  2. Molly / Sep 1 2011 9:59 pm

    What beautiful stacks of hexies! Very impressive when you see them all laid out like that. I can’t wait to see what you make.

  3. nanrs / Sep 3 2011 9:03 am

    Oh my gosh, you are an amazing person. This is gorgeous!!!

  4. Emma / Nov 18 2011 8:03 am

    well that is one lovely box of niceness :) If you loose stamina you can just ship them my way ;)

Leave a Reply

